A Day in Joshua’s Life

June 16, 2010 at 1:18 am 12 comments

12:30am I wake up in my cosleeping pack n’ play, swaddled up, next to the big bed.  I’m hungry! Time to wake Mommy up! She changes my diaper and brings me back to the big bed to feed me. 

1:00am My plan worked! Mommy fell asleep before me, so I get to spend the rest of the night in the big bed! Snuggle time…

3:00am Hungry again!

5:00am Hungry again!

5:45am Daddy gets up for work, and I’m glad to have more room in the big bed! Hungry again!

6:30am Daddy woke me up to kiss me and Mommy goodbye.  Hungry again!

8:00am Mommy change my diaper! Mommy takes me back to bed and we read Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you see? and A to Z.  More snuggles.

8:30am Mommy tries to trick me into going back to sleep, but it doesn’t work! She gets up and gets dressed while I chatter away to the AC vent in the ceiling.  Then Mommy gets me dressed in my first outfit of the day.

9:00am Mommy fixes her own breakfast while I sit in the swing.  She rushes because she knows I’m getting hungry again!

9:15am Mommy feeds me, while trying to eat her own breakfast and check email at the same time.  Silly Mommy!

9:30am I fill my diaper, but doze off at the same time.  Mommy debates waking me up to change me, and her nose wins.  Now I’m awake again!  Mommy sings to me, her voice is bad but I don’t mind.

9:45am I’m nice and clean and dry again.  Mommy feeds me on the other side.

10:00am Mommy and I play on the couch.  She shows me interesting brightly colored toys, I chew on my hands and talk to her.  We both smile a lot and laugh a little.

10:15am I’m bored with playing. I cry with a super-sad face and scratch Mommy.  She decides it’s time for a walk outside. She puts my silly hat on and we go up to the mail box.  We see two Tom Turkeys on the way, and lots of birds and bugs in the hay field.  The man across the street is mowing his lawn and he stops to talk to us.  We walk back to our yard and visit the vegetable garden.  Wow there are a lot of weeds in there! Mommy, don’t you have time to weed?

10:30am We’re back in the house.  I’m cranky again! Mommy gets another glass of water.  She says she needs to drink lots of water to make me milk, but I never see her making milk.  I just know it’s ready whenever I want it.  I think I want some right now!

10:35am I thought I was hungry, but I’m sleepy! Maybe I’ll close my eyes, just for a minute…

11:00am  Now I’m hungry!

11:30am  Mom changes my diaper and tells me we’re going to go visit the animals at the farm.  She starts getting ready to go…

12:10pm Oh no, not the car seat… We’re finally in the car.  We go to the farm and visit with great-grandma.  Mommy shops and then we see the llamas, mini-horse, goats and bunnies.  It’s hot so they’re in the shade.  I’m hot, too, let’s go home.

1:00pm  We’re home! Mommy and I take two trips to carry everything in.  I’m hungry again! Mommy’s lunch will have to wait.  But I’m pretty tired, too…

1:30pm  Mommy tries to get up to get lunch, and I wake up! I wait for her to get something to eat, then we eat together.  I’m still sleepy… I continue to doze on and off while sleep-eating and I think Mommy even clipped my nails and toe nails! 

3:00pm  I wake up very cranky! I throw my head back and cry with my super-sad face and real tears.  I’m not really sure why I was so upset, but a diaper change and some more to eat make me feel better.  Even a little tired again…

4:00pm  Cranky again! Mommy changes my diaper and feeds me, and now I’m happy again!

4:30pm  Bath time!

5:00pm  Mommy and I play, sing songs and read Big Red Barn and Moo, Baa, La La La.  Mommy gets a phone call and I talk loudly, too!

6:00pm  Time to eat again! Daddy gets home, says hello and goes to take a shower.  Then he cooks supper while Mommy feeds me.

7:00pm  Mommy and Daddy eat supper and I sit next to Mommy on the couch.  She eats and I smile and laugh at her.  Daddy cleans up the kitchen and Mommy and I watch him and talk to him.

7:30pm  I spend some quality time with Daddy on the couch.  I smile and talk to him, but then I start to get cranky! We rock in the rocking chair for a little while.

8:00pm  Mommy changes me and puts me in my jammies.  She and Daddy think that I’ll go to sleep soon, but I’m not tired!  Time to eat!

8:30pm  I’m feeling very sleepy…

Entry filed under: Family, joshua daniel. Tags: , .

Smile! Hay!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. laura  |  June 16, 2010 at 2:41 am

    Love it! Actually made me ache for Liam to want to nurse every 20 minutes. :D

    Reply
  • 2. Ruth  |  June 16, 2010 at 6:31 am

    OMG, how true! I know that Joshua already knows how lucky he is to have you for his Mommy and Ed for his Daddy! He sounds JUST LIKE YOU as an infant! Daily life with an infant is truly a circular story!

    No one can tell you how your new life totally revolves around this new life until it happens to YOU! Enjoy it, because believe me, it doesn’t stay that way for long!

    LOVE YOU BOTH!

    Reply
  • 3. Amy  |  June 16, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    Life sounds wonderful at your house!!

    Reply
  • 4. Dana  |  June 16, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    and when did mommy find time to write this great blog??

    Reply
  • 5. Amber  |  June 17, 2010 at 3:59 am

    That is one busy day! It doesn’t feel like I do much sometimes, but life with kids really does keep you hopping. I know that much for sure.

    Reply
  • 6. Liz Hoskins  |  June 18, 2010 at 1:34 am

    Abbie, I loved reading this, and reminiscing about how life used to be….don’t get me wrong, I love getting a full 7 hours of consecutive sleep these days, but I occasionally miss the middle of the night, head in a fog feedings…when they look up at you with those big beautiful eyes….ahhh…..soak it all in because it really goes by with a blink of an eye!

    Reply
  • [...] Newborn: Only 3 months old, and already Joshua Daniel is writing blog posts.  In “A Day in Joshua’s Life,” he takes us hour by hour through the day spent with his mom Abbie on the blog Our Country [...]

    Reply
  • 8. ruth  |  June 22, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Just LOVE how dear Joshua is featured as the “most articulate newborn” on the host site for “Green Moms Carnival!”

    Too cute!

    Reply
  • 9. Condo Blues  |  June 22, 2010 at 8:47 pm

    Joshua you write so well for a baby! I love hearing about your day.

    Reply
  • 10. Robbie @ Going Green Mama  |  June 22, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    I miss those days! Sigh…

    Reply
  • 11. Lisa @Retro Housewife Goes Green  |  June 23, 2010 at 2:22 am

    I have to agree with Lisa- Condo Blues. :) Thanks for sharing this is too cute!

    Reply
  • 12. Katy  |  June 24, 2010 at 12:55 am

    Oh, the days of constant nursing! Your post really shows just how much it happens in a day with a newborn.

    Joshua, you keep your mama on her toes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

