Telling our Families

July 19, 2009 at 7:54 pm 1 comment

July 19, 2009

Tonight, we told our families about the baby.  First, we stopped by my parents’ house.  My mom and Jon were there, but Dad and Nate were up with the horses.  When they finally got home, I said “Mom, I got this book you might be interested in” as I handed her the names for new grandparents book.  She screamed and hugged me before anyone else realized what was going on.  Then we all talked for a little while about the baby before we had to head over to Ed’s parents’ house.  My mom was so excited, but I think my dad and brothers were in shock.

Since we were celebrating Ed’s mom’s birthday tonight, I gave her the book as a present.  When she pulled it out of the bag and read it, she screamed and started crying, then hugged us.  Ed’s dad shook his hand and hugged me.  Chris, Melissa and Kate were there, so now all of our immediate families know about the baby.

We’ve made everyone promise to keep it a secret until September, when I’m out of the first trimester.  We’re all excited to tell our grandparents that they’re going to be great-grandparents!

Ed and I couldn’t be happier.

Entry filed under: Family, Pregnancy.

5 weeks 7 Weeks

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. everydaywomanusa  |  August 16, 2009 at 1:13 am

    YES, BUT I CAN’T WAIT TO TELL THE WORLD!!!! I DON’T KNOW HOW I CAN POSSIBLY WAIT UNTIL SEPT. 1st!!!

    I know I was screaming and jumping up and down and hugging . . . my dream has come true! I was so hoping that Dad and I would become grandparents sometime soon!

    I knew you must have been blogging in secret because this is all you can think about! Will you publish this on Sept. 1?

    The other funny thing: the book you gave us said “The New Grandparents Name Book” and I told you that you can’t let the grandparents name the baby! In my excitement, I didn’t realize it was new names for hip grandparents! Don’t worry, I’ll come up with something clever–anything other than grandma–which is too old sounding, but your father wants to be called “Grandpa Rose!”

    Ohhhhhh, we are so excited for you and Ed!

    I have to keep biting my tongue NOT to tell anyone!!!

    Love and hugs,
    Grandmommy (?)

    P.S. You and Ed will be WONDERFUL parents . . . and don’t forget both sets of grandparents are just a phone call away!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



