10 Weeks

August 17, 2009 at 9:43 pm 6 comments

I had my 10 week checkup today with my midwife and got some really great news.  First, my due date has been moved to March 14, since the ultrasound showed the baby is a little bit younger than they originally thought.

The nurse took my blood pressure and weighed me.  My blood pressure was 116/80, and she wrote my weight on my chart.  I probably shouldn’t publish my weight online, but oh well.  When my midwife looked at the chart, she said “You weigh 136.”  I burst out laughing and said “No, I don’t!”  Apparently, the nurse’s “8” looked like a “3.”  Good thing I caught it or they’d be shocked at my next appointment, thinking I had gained 50 pounds in a month.

We went over my blood test results, which were excellent.  I’m immune to measles, parvovirus (Fifth’s disease), and chicken pox.  I’m not a carrier for Cystic Fibrosis or Fragile X.  And I’ve never had any STD (well, I already knew that, but they tested anyway).

We talked for a while about what I can and can’t do, about future appointments and tests, and for a long while, about our new baby horse Isabelle.  Turns out my midwife had been to the farm with her daughter to see the horse, and I told her all about what a great mom Annabelle is.

Then, I had a physical exam.  She said everything looks “perfect” and I got to hear the heartbeat with a doppler.

I really love my midwife and I’m sad that she no longer does deliveries.  I’ll be meeting the doctors in the practice over the coming weeks, as any of them could be on call when I go in to labor.  I really hope they’re as great as she is, and that they’ll support my plans for a natural birth with no interventions, as long as both I and the baby are doing well.  I’m not opposed to finding a different practice if I don’t agree with their philosophies.

I go for more blood tests tomorrow, in preparation for my first trimester ultrasound and screening next week.

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , .

7 Weeks 11 Weeks

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. everydaywomanusa  |  August 18, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Woohoo! What great news! Everything’s going along just perfectly. You ARE brave to publish your weight online. I’ve heard pregnant women are prone to losing their mind at times!

    I know you’ll keep us posted!

    Reply
  • 2. mimiwalston  |  August 18, 2009 at 1:09 am

    Hahaha Hi Gram, that is funny, Surely Mama Ab has lost it, yes Ab, you are very brave, thats a good sign though Grammy Ruth, we will get every little detail about our grandbaby! That is so great that you have so much information this early on, it helps to take away a lot of the worries and concerns that new parents feel. This truly is the best news, I know she or he will be healthy and this is going to be the greatest experience for all of us, you and Ed are going to be terrific parents and of course you couldn’t ask for better grandparents, we will all be there for the 3 of you! Thanks for sharing, when can we tell????????xo

    Reply
    • 3. everydaywomanusa  |  August 18, 2009 at 1:19 am

      Mimi~
      I heard today that we might be able to tell sooner than we expected. Is it still Sept. 1, Abbie?

      Abbie~
      Let Mimi and me know! We can’t keep this secret much longer!

      Love,
      Mom/GrandMom

      Reply
  • 4. everydaywomanusa  |  August 18, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Yes, Mimi, I agree, this little bundle of joy has so many people just waiting to love and spoil him/her!

    We’d better watch out, though. We’re such crazy grams, the next thing you know the mom-to-be will be blocking our comments!

    Reply
  • 5. Lisa  |  August 29, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Are you having a home birth, birthing center or hospital? Or do you know?

    Reply
    • 6. Farmer's Daughter  |  August 29, 2009 at 2:15 pm

      We’re planning for a hospital birth. I’ve got a whole post about our reasoning in my head, and someday I’ll get it written out. There aren’t any birth centers close enough to us to consider it, though I think they’re a great option.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



