11 Weeks

August 25, 2009 at 6:45 pm 4 comments

11 week ultrasound 1

Today we went for the First Trimester Risk Assessment at Yale.  We got great news! The nuchal transparency measured 1mm, and anything between 1-3mm is normal.  Over 3mm and they’re concerned about chromosomal abnormalities.  Also, based on the blood protein levels, our chances of having a child with Down Syndrome are 1/19,000, and our chances of having a child with Trisomy 18 are 1/20,000.  Based on my age alone, the chances of having a child with Down Syndrome were 1/620, so the results of the protein test were really great news.  It’s been really neat to go through all of the testing that I used to teach about in the genetics unit in Biology.

The ultrasound was so amazing.  I was surprised to see the baby move so much, but it will be a while before I can feel the movements.  We got to hear the heartbeat, which was 169 beats per minute.  We also saw legs, feet, arms and hands.  When we saw the profile, Ed said he thinks the baby has my nose.  Right now, the baby measures about 3 inches from the head to the toes.  We kept seeing the baby move his/her hand towards his/her face, and the sonographer said the baby was probably going to suck his/her thumb.  Seeing the baby move made it feel very real to me.

11 week ultrasound 2

The results were so great that we decided to tell everyone tonight.  We stopped by my parents’ house on the way home to show the ultrasound pictures, and I called both my grandmothers to tell them they’re going to be great-grandmothers.  They were both so excited!  Mema has already called all of her friends and that side of the family.  Golligol went right out to tell Pa that he’s going to be a great-grandfather.  When we got back to our house, Ed’s mom came over to see the pictures.  Ed called his grandmother to tell her she’s going to be a great-grandma.  My mom brought pizza over to our house and we had an impromptu pizza party.  I emailed all my family and friends, and by that point word had already started to get around.  It’s so great to actually be able to tell people about the baby!

Entry filed under: Family, Pregnancy. Tags: , .

10 Weeks Proud Grandmas-to-be

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lizz  |  August 27, 2009 at 12:27 am

    There are two babies-on-the-way in my family, which makes four in the past four years. But I have to say, this is the first time I could actually see a BABY in the ultrasounds this early on. Congrats again, especially with all the good news.

    Reply
  • 2. Amber  |  August 27, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Congratulations! I’m so glad that things are going well. And I loved my ultrasounds, too. There’s something so amazing about seeing an actual BABY. It’s just incredible.

    Reply
  • 3. everydaywomanusa  |  August 27, 2009 at 12:51 am

    Abbie,

    Thank you SO MUCH for finally announcing this to the world, which gave me the go-ahead to tell everyone I know!

    As you can imagine, the hardest thing for me all summer was to keep my mouth shut, as so many times it almost slipped out in everyday conversations. I know it must have been the same for Mom Marie (aka Mimi), too!

    WE COULDN’T BE HAPPIER FOR YOU AND ED. THIS IS A DREAM COME TRUE FOR ALL OF US. DAD AND I ARE SO EXCITED AND HAPPY. WE KNOW THAT YOU’LL MAKE WONDERFUL PARENTS AND THAT YOU HAVE A WONDERFUL, LOVING HOME TO WELCOME THIS BABY INTO.

    YES, I AM SHOUTING (you always say that when I write in caps) . . . SHOUTING WITH JOY!!!!

    Hugs and kisses for you all,
    MOM

    Reply
  • 4. mimiwalston  |  August 27, 2009 at 10:05 pm

    Happy, Happy, Happy!
    It feels so good to be able to tell everyone. Yea
    Love and hugs
    Mom Mimi xoxoxoxox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



