12 Weeks

August 31, 2009 at 8:46 pm 6 comments

I’m so happy to finally be able to tell people about our baby.  I’ve told family, friends, and colleagues, but have yet to tell my students.  I’m sure they’ll figure it out soon enough, and then it will spread like wildfire.  In the last week that my pregnancy has been common knowledge, I’ve been asked a surprising number of personal questions.  Here’s a sampling.

How are you feeling?

Actually, I’m feeling great.  I haven’t had any morning sickness, and I feel almost guilty when people tell me about how sick they were.  I feel very lucky! In the beginning, I was also very tired, but now I’ve started to notice my energy is coming back, which is good since summer vacation is over.

Was this planned?

First, let me say this is an inappropriate question to ask someone.  However, the answer is yes, this is a planned pregnancy.  Meticulously planned, and it just so happened we got pregnant right away.  I know a lot of people have trouble conceiving, so again I feel very fortunate.

Is it a boy or a girl?

We don’t know yet, but hope to find out at the 18 week ultrasound.

Have you picked a name?

We actually haven’t even really discussed names.  I think we want to wait to find out if it’s a boy or a girl.  The one certainty is that the middle name will be Rose if it’s a girl. 

How did you keep it a secret?

It was really, really hard! But we told our immediate families.

How long are you taking off from work?

I haven’t worked it all out, but I’d like to take off the rest of the school year and go back in September.

Who will watch the baby when you go back to work?

We have no idea yet, but plenty of time to figure it out.

Will you breastfeed?

Yes, I think that breastfeeding is very important for a large variety of reasons.

How many kids do you want?

Geez, can I have this one first, then worry about it?

Entry filed under: Pregnancy.

Proud Grandmas-to-be 14 Weeks

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber  |  August 31, 2009 at 9:12 pm

    Wow, I’m surprised by the brazen nature of some of those questions. I am extremely pro-breastfeeding, but even I wouldn’t as a pregnant woman about her plans. And I’m with you on the number of kids. I’m aiming for 1 at a time, and see how our family does.

    Reply
  • 2. Jena  |  August 31, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Oh my, that’s just wonderful that people feel the need to ask all those questions! (flabbergasted) Of course I think some of those are normal but some are a little bold.
    Wait for the “can I touch your belly?” That seems really weird to me. I’m going to wear a shirt that just says “NO, you can’t touch it” if I ever get pregnant!
    I really, really hope you’ll share your thoughts and things throughout your pregnancy but I hope it doesn’t bother you too much if you get some negative feedback. That happened over at Hot Belly Mama and she just decided not to share certain facts after that.

    Reply
    • 3. Farmer's Daughter  |  September 1, 2009 at 12:23 am

      I read an idea somewhere of how to get people not to touch your belly. Just reach out and touch theirs when they look like they want to grab yours. Most people are self-conscious and will get the hint, haha. Don’t know if I’d be brave enough to do that, though!

      As for my opinions, I’m pretty hard-headed so I’m not worried about what anyone else thinks 🙂

      Reply
  • 4. Ruth  |  September 1, 2009 at 9:21 am

    Wow! Some of these questions are pretty nerve-y!

    Just wait ’til strangers ask to touch your belly, as Jena said! Oh, wait, didn’t I just touch a pregnant belly yesterday, but she wasn’t a stranger and I asked permission?!?!

    I DO love the middle name, though, for a girl! Thanks for sharing!

    Love,
    Mom

    Reply
  • 5. Marie  |  September 1, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    Hi AB
    Good answers AB, the best advice I can give you is to take good care of yourself, use common sense and try not to listen to and read all of the negative comments and issues out there. Most importantly enjoy every moment of this experience, you have a posivite attitude and a sense of humor so I know you will have an easy pregnancy. If you do need to bitch or complain, we are here for you. That is what Moms are for, right Ruth? Do grandmothers get to touch the belly when we can actually feel him / her kick? Just asking 🙂
    Love and Hugs,
    Mom Mimi xoxo

    Reply
  • 6. laura  |  September 1, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    My favorite rude person thing was the old lady at Kroger’s. I was (seemingly) forever away from my due date and HUGE. She wanted to not only feel me up but tell me how she passed her due date and that she thought it would never come. The entire produce department was looking. Before I escaped, she managed to input that she thought I’d be late. Jerk.

    I found that when people began to reach for the belly, if I would casually step away from them, they got the message fairly quickly. No one wants to chase you down!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



