14 Weeks

September 15, 2009 at 11:49 pm 5 comments

We had another check up today, and all news was good.  I gained 2 lbs since the last visit and my blood pressure was 110/70.  The protein and glucose levels in my urine are normal, too. 

I talked to the doctor about the flu shot and plan to get one at my school when they offer it.  I also plan to get the 2009 H1N1 vaccine, which he said the FDA just approved today.  I’m torn about it, since I’ve never gotten a flu shot before, and I’ve also never had the flu.  I’m also worried that the H1N1 vaccine hasn’t been tested for that long, but I spoke to a friend who has a Ph.D. in microbiology and she explained how the process of making the vaccine is very similar to the regular flu vaccine.  Getting an understanding of the science made me feel better about it.  Another friend shared her story of getting the flu in her third trimester, and it sounded horrible.  She was so sick and dehydrated that she lost 8 lbs in two days.  All good reasons for me to get the shots.

Back to the visit.  We got to hear the baby’s heartbeat again with the Doppler.  But my favorite part of the visit by far was when the doctor told me my weight was “superb.”  I would like to get that in writing and frame it, since that’s the first and probably last time I’ll ever hear that my weight is “superb.”

Ed complains that he never sees any other dads at the office, and I’m very happy that he’s there with me.  I told him he could skip the next visit if he wants.

It was a great visit overall and we scheduled the next appointment, with the big BOY OR GIRL ultrasound for Columbus day.  I’m very excited and looking forward to that!  And Ed’s excited about finding out, too, so I guess he’s planning to go with me after all.

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , .

12 Weeks It’s a…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. laura  |  September 16, 2009 at 2:11 am

    I didn’t get the flu shot when I was pregnant. Looking back now, I’m still not sure if I would have. Working with kids, I was worried about the germs and so forth, but I never got the flu. Instead, I got a horrible respiratory infection that lasted for 6 weeks. I couldn’t stop coughing and that was the worst part. Honey and lemon juice only go so far.

    It’s always great to hear that your weight is fantastic! Now… we need some belly photos! 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Ruth  |  September 16, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Abbie and Ed,

    What an awesome visit! All great news!

    Sounds like you may be warming up to the doctors now, as well as the midwife. I know that you’ll do your research before getting the shot/s so that you’ll feel comfortable and that you’re so well-informed.

    Do tell Ed that I’m so proud that he’s an involved Dad and I’m sure this is just the beginning!

    Bet you’re both excited about the next visit! Do you really want to know the gender? I’m amazed at how many people still want to be surprised these days, which, with all the testing, is kind of hard to do!

    Reply
  • 3. Marie  |  September 16, 2009 at 12:11 pm

    HI Ab
    So happy to hear you had another great appointment, 2 pounds, great job! I am sure that you will look at all data about the flu shot and do what is best for the two of you. I do understand your concerns.
    Nice! Ed on being a great Dad to be, it is great that you are being involved early on, it keeps the 3 of you all connected! The other Dad’s don’t know what they are missing, sitting in the office with all those big belly Moms and then they go home and thier husbands get the lecture about ONE nice Dad sitting there with his wife! I am proud of you!
    I am excited about finding out if we have a grandson or grandaughter, so we will be looking forward with great anticipation for Columbus Day to get here. Time is going by so fast, he / she will be in our lives before we know it! I better get painting that mural. I will start it in November. All good news!
    love,
    Mimi xo

    Reply
  • 4. Jena  |  September 16, 2009 at 8:38 pm

    Yayy! I’m so happy that all is going well for you guys. Dang straight Ed is going, what guy wouldn’t!? I wonder if for a lot of those other woman maybe it isn’t their first pregnancy. At least in our group of friends here the husbands usually go to everything they can with the first one and after that they lose interest or don’t want to take the time off work, etc.
    I’m off to look up when Columbus Day is… (lol)

    Reply
  • 5. Amber  |  September 19, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    It sounds like things are going well. I’m so happy for you! And I can’t wait to hear the results from the big ultrasound. 🙂

    My husband came to all of my appointments for the first baby. It made me very happy. With the second baby he ended up staying in the waiting room with the 3-year-old. I was disappointed that he missed out, but I was SO grateful to have the uninterrupted appointments that I didn’t mind. Having an involved partner is really fabulous, whatever form it takes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



