21 Weeks

November 1, 2009 at 6:54 pm 7 comments

Today marks 21 weeks of pregnancy, and we’re officially over half-way there, though I’m still suspicious that this baby will come late.  I’m anxiously awaiting the baby’s first kicks, and I’m assured that I will feel him in the next week or two.  So far, staring at my belly and concentrating has not seemed to result in anything, not that I thought it would, but I can hope.

I’ve been looking into childbirth classes and have decided that the Bradley Method fits well with my beliefs and hopes for childbirth.  I’m reading the book Husband-Coached Childbirth, which starts with Dr. Bradley’s experiences watching animals give birth, and I immediately felt like this is the right method for us, as I’ve often thought of my own experiences with animals giving birth.  So, I’m looking into signing up for classes and getting feedback from friends who have taken the Bradley classes.  I’m also planning to sign up for a one-day class at the hospital so we can get a tour and fill out the paperwork, and so I can learn more about the hospital, since I’ve never been hospitalized before.

I have to say that I feel very encouraged by looking at Yale’s website.  They hold classes on VBAC’s, hypnobirthing, and breastfeeding for couples, as well as a sibling class (not that we need that!).  This, in addition to the low episiotomy rate (less than 5%)  makes me so happy that I have chosen Yale.  While the C-section rate is high, I feel that’s partially due to the fact that high-risk mothers in our area deliver at Yale, as it is one of the best maternal-fetal medicine centers in the country.  I feel very optimistic that I can have the birth I want to have at the hospital.

Though my clothes are tighter, I’m still waiting for my belly to really make its appearance.  I’ll be happy when people can look at me and tell that I’m pregnant without having to tell them that I haven’t just gotten chunky! As for weight gain, I’m pleasantly surprised that I’ve been putting on weight at a very healthy, slow rate.  I always had fears that I would balloon in weight, but I’ve been following my instincts: when I’m hungry, I eat, and I don’t eat when I’m not hungry.  I try to eat a healthy diet with lots of grains, fresh fruits and veggies and protein, but I don’t beat myself up if I eat something that’s not the healthiest.  And as usual, I don’t believe in depriving myself of treats, either, but try not to over-do it.  I feel healthy, although I’ve found that I need to go to bed earlier and have a harder time getting up in the morning.  I’ve started taking the elevator at school to my third floor classroom, if only so I’m not completely out of breath by the time I get there.

I’m really enjoying being pregnant, and feel so lucky that I haven’t been sick at all and haven’t had any complications.  My next doctor’s appointment is next week, and I’m hoping for a good report again.

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , .

19 Weeks Movement!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. laura  |  November 1, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    take the breastfeeding class if you can. It would have been nice if I had done so as well. Sometimes, you just need a helping hand and not literature.

    Reply
    • 2. Farmer's Daughter  |  November 2, 2009 at 2:00 am

      Hmmm… I wasn’t planning on taking a breastfeeding class. Maybe it’s my ignorance or upbringing on a farm, but I was planning to just trust my instincts.

      Reply
  • 3. marriedtothefarm  |  November 1, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    It sounds like things are really coming together. Your hospital sounds nice and organized. I’ve heard Active Birth is pretty helpful to read beforehand (http://www.amazon.com/Active-Birth-Approach-Naturally-Revised/dp/1558320385). Something about using gravity to your advantage, lol. I’m not sure how it fits with the Bradley method though.

    I hope you feel him kick soon – that is so exciting!

    Reply
  • 4. Amber  |  November 2, 2009 at 3:44 am

    I remember being 4-5 months along, and just walking around patting my belly. It was my way of letting people know that I was, in fact, pregnant and not just packing on the pounds.

    Reply
  • 5. Marie  |  November 3, 2009 at 3:09 pm

    As you know, knowledge is power, the more info that you research the better the fit will be and I am an avid supporter of childbirth classes, they inform you about every aspect of childbirth and the more you know the more it puts both you and Ed in the comfort zone. The
    Bradley Method sounds great. I can’t wait to hear all about it. I think the breastfeeding classes are also extremely informative and helpful. Being a new parent hands out lots of little and unexpected surprises. No worries, you are both going to be great parents. Plus you have 2 experienced grams to help along, when needed. xo
    Mimi

    Reply
  • 6. Ruth  |  November 4, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Abbie,

    I am SO glad you’re enjoying your pregnancy and that you’re feeling great! You just look wonderful and have that pregnancy glow! I enjoyed each of my three pregnancies and never felt better; I’m so glad you’re sharing these feelings!

    The Bradley Method sounds great, kind of like a combination of Lamaze and overall good preparation and education. I know that you and Ed will be prepared and will make wonderful parents. I loved doing Lamaze with Dad, and if nothing else, it gave us a chance to really concentrate on the pregnancy, meet some fun couples experiencing the same thing, and gave us breathing tricks that really helped us feel prepared and manage labor. As Marie says, knowledge is power and I couldn’t agree more. Plus, it’s SO important to get the Dads involved!

    I’m so glad you’re enjoying the experience, but the BEST is yet to come.

    Hugs,
    Mom

    Reply
  • 7. MoDLin  |  November 6, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    This is such an exciting time in your life. Congratulations!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



