27 Weeks

December 8, 2009 at 10:02 pm 8 comments

What? You’re wondering how I was 24 weeks only two weeks ago, and now I’m 27 weeks along? Well, turns out when they moved my due date back in September or October, that also pushed me a week ahead in gestation.  Which I didn’t realize until now.  Oh well!

Anyway, today was a great check up.  I got there early, but then had to wait for about 45 minutes in the waiting room.  There were a couple of emergencies so the doctor was running behind.  The first stop when they finally called me in was the scale.  After last month’s gain of 8lbs, I was nervous.  Turns out, I was nervous for nothing because I only gained half a pound, which brings my total weight gain to 13.5lbs.  My blood pressure was 118/60, and the results of my fasting glucose levels were normal, so it was very good news.  I’m slightly anemic, which could partly explain why I’ve been feeling so tired lately.  The doctor also said that my belly is “perfect” sized and to make sure that I’m eating enough.  Um, no problem!

I go back in three weeks, and after that, I’ll have to go every two weeks until 36 weeks, at which point I’ll go every week.  Can’t believe how fast this is going by!

In other news, we’ve set the date for the baby shower and are planning to do it at our house.  We ordered invitations last night and I can’t wait for them to get here! I’ve completed the baby registry, and we’re pretty well set there.  I’m still going back and forth on what kind of diapers to use: g-diapers or cloth.  I figure I’ll get some of each and try them out, and probably some disposables, too.  I figure that at least while I’m on leave at home, I can use an alternative to the disposables.

The only place where we haven’t made progress is on names.  We haven’t really talked about them, and we have no favorites, though we do know what names we don’t like.  Seems it’s easier to pick out names you hate than names you love.  I have, however, thought of some really great names for future pets, but nothing I want to name my child.

Entry filed under: Family, Pregnancy. Tags: .

24 Weeks 30 Weeks

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marriedtothefarm  |  December 9, 2009 at 10:21 am

    LoL, umm, now is NOT the time to get a puppy so I hope you won’t be using those names for awhile! I’m glad to hear you made progress on your shower, that sounds like fun. You’ll probably get a lot of advice from other moms but I can offer what my cousin has learned about diapers. She found some that were recommended by a lady at church, they worked great with her daughter. Well, Carrie’s son floods them out every time. They are useful with him. After talked with other people her and I have concluded that different diapers must work for different babies – that must be why there are so many and every Mom has a different favorite. I’d try a few different kinds first before buying too many of one design. Good luck. 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. marriedtothefarm  |  December 9, 2009 at 10:21 am

    *useless, not useful

    Reply
  • 3. everydaywomanusa  |  December 9, 2009 at 12:50 pm

    Great news!!! You’re doing a wonderful job and the time is flying! It isn’t too often that you hear “make sure you’re eating enough,” so enjoy!

    I know you’ll find the best choices for you and your baby! So glad to be along for the ride!

    Reply
  • 4. Marie  |  December 9, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    Happy to hear that your checkup went so well, you look great and feel great, what more can we ask for.
    Lots to do and lots to look forward to. I can’t wait until litte “???” gets here. Choosing names is always difficult,two many choices and so many opinions, I am sure it will be perfect!!!!

    Reply
  • 5. Angie Cox  |  December 9, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    So glad things are going well for you. What a lucky little kiddo. For me, the problem with finding a name was my teaching occupation. No matter how much you love your job and your kids, certain names just have to be marked off the list b/c of past experiences with “those names”. I ended up with four beautiful girls b/c I/we could not come up with a boy name that a kid could live with. My husband wanted to bring them home for a few days before naming them….like he does the various pets. 🙂

    #4’s middle name came when I was watching a “hits of the 80’s” commercial. The name will appear….and it will be perfectly time and perfectly appropriate.

    Blessings to your sweet family.

    Reply
    • 6. Farmer's Daughter  |  December 9, 2009 at 2:12 pm

      Thanks! Yes, I understand the teaching issue with naming. In 7 years teaching, I’ve had at least 100 kids a year, so that’s 700 kids at least. That’s a lot of names!

      Reply
    • 7. everydaywomanusa  |  December 10, 2009 at 12:31 pm

      Angie, so funny you said that because Abbie and I (gram-to-be) are both teachers, so it’s IMPOSSIBLE NOT to associate names with past students!

      Reply
  • 8. Oldnovice  |  December 10, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    My daughter has had the name picked since WAY before she became pregnant, I think. She went with Astrid (which in my heritage (Norwegian) is pronounced Ah-stree)). I warned her that in the US the name will be pronounced ASS-trid, and her husband worried about kids in school (who are always cruel with names) calling her Ass-turd, but she refused to accept another name. I haven’t heard anything about a middle name, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



