What’s in a Name?

January 8, 2010 at 1:01 am 2 comments

We’re still working on finding a name for our little boy.  It seems like “Do you know if it’s a boy or a girl?” is always followed by “Did you pick a name yet?”  NO, no we have not. 

We know what kind of name we’re looking for: a traditional name.  We’re Abigail and Edwin, and we’d like something to go along with our names.  Ed doesn’t want a junior, so that’s out.  But the real problem comes in when we start to think about names we like.  Our families are so big that every name we like is already taken.  For example, here is just a sampling of the male family members we see on a regular basis and therefore don’t want to use their names:

  • Alfred, Richard (our dads)
  • Jonathan, Nathaniel, Christopher (our brothers)
  • David (grandfather, uncle and cousin)
  • Andrew (grandfather, uncle and cousin)
  • Paul, Robert, Daniel, Thomas (uncles)
  • Matthew, Mark, Michael, Aaron, Alden, John, George, Stephen, Tyler, Christian, Ryan, William, Jacob, Cody (cousins)

So… traditional names that aren’t already taken are tough to come by.  But we are working on it!

Entry filed under: Family. Tags: .

30 Weeks Baby Shower

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. laura  |  January 8, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    oooooh, good luck. I spent hours pours over websites, books and old journals. Initially, I had wanted a good name to represent one of our heritages. I’m Italian and Matt is Norwegian. Names like Mario and Helmer quickly ended that. I found a book with great names from literature. Matt didn’t like any that I picked out… at ALL. Then one day, it occurred to me that since Matt is SO fair, we might be lucky enough to have a red-head! Then I started looking at Irish/Scottish names. That’s how I landed on Liam. I didn’t want something trendy. I wanted something he could spell and people wouldn’t botch the pronunciation (Ian was out since I couldn’t get my in-laws to say it right). So for future boys we are sticking to Irish-type names. And if it’s a girl… I get to use Isolde… but only as a middle name.

    Reply
  • 2. Lindsay  |  January 13, 2010 at 3:16 pm

    Hi!

    I read your Farmers Daughter log and love it! I am also a “farm girl” so I enjoy reading about other womens experiences. I was reading your blog and thought that my future boys name you might like because it’s traditional and not many people use it any more. Fredrick.

    Good luck with everything and thank you for having such a great blog(s)! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



