32 Weeks

January 13, 2010 at 12:02 am 7 comments

Today we went for our 32 week check up and got good news, all is progressing well.  I’ve gained a total of 25 lbs, my blood pressure was 118/72, my belly is the right size, and everything looks good.

The baby is head down and the doctor showed me how to feel the back of his head.  I really couldn’t tell what was what, but I was glad he tried to show me.  The baby’s feet are right up under my ribcage, which I already knew because he’s been kicking me for the last few weeks.  His heart rate was 140 beats per minute.

We talked more about my wishes for a natural delivery, and about intermittent monitoring so I could get up and walk around during labor without being hooked up to machines.  The doctors seem to be more than willing to respect my decisions, and he encouraged me to try different positions in labor, walking, and hot showers.  He again verified that as long as I test negative for Group B Strep, I won’t need to have an IV.  That test will take place at 36 weeks, so I’m hopeful that it’ll be negative but realize there’s nothing I can really do about it.  My next appointment is in two weeks.

I’m feeling bigger and bigger, but happy to report that I’m sleeping better and haven’t had heartburn more than a few times.  I look foward to feeling the baby’s kicks in the morning at night, and a few times throughout the day.  I’m feeling really great and am loving being pregnant.

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , .

Baby Shower Birth Class

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. everydaywomanusa  |  January 13, 2010 at 12:24 am

    GREAT NEWS! THANKS FOR SHARING!

    I’m so glad to hear all checks out well with the doctor, because I know you’re looking great and feeling good!

    Nice work, Abbie! There is NO MORE IMPORTANT work than growing a baby!

    I absolutely LOVED being pregnant and I’m so glad you do, too!

    Reply
  • 2. Marie  |  January 13, 2010 at 12:29 am

    Gram #2 checking in, glad to hear that everything went well, sounds like you are right on track with everything and we cannot ask for more than that! What a blessing that your pregnancy is going along so smoothly, great job! This is one of those most memorable times of your lives, so exciting.

    Reply
  • 3. Amber  |  January 13, 2010 at 4:33 am

    I could never figure out what I was feeling, either. My midwives tried to show me the various parts, but I couldn’t distinguish them.

    And the kicks really are awesome, aren’t they?

    Reply
  • 4. Maureen  |  January 13, 2010 at 6:09 am

    This may sound strange but….with one of my pregnancies (the only one that I was able to be up and kicking during labor), it felt great to sit on the toilet. The squatting factor. I loved being pregnant! Good luck!

    Reply
  • 5. Jessica  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Awesome. I had Group B Strep and my midwife hooked up an I.V. for about 5 minutes to our ceiling fan. You can probably work something out where you wouldn’t have to be hooked up to an I.V. through your entire labor.

    Reply
  • 6. marriedtothefarm  |  January 13, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    I’m so happy for you that you are enjoying your pregnancy. It seems like it would be a big letdown if you didn’t. 🙂

    Reply
  • 7. maya  |  January 15, 2010 at 2:25 pm

    I had group b the first time around (negative this time!) and it was a cinch to walk around with the IV, didn’t really get in the way at all. They IVs are usually on wheels, so it’s not a problem. Towards the end I did decide to go with a mild epi, and then of course you can’t walk, lol. But for the first, oh, 20 hours of very slow/relatively pleasant labor, I was on the IV and walking. I was on an external fetal monitor, too, but they would just unhook it whenever I wanted to get up.

    Now I’m due for next week! Hoping the new moon today brings on labor sooner though 🙂

    Good luck with yours!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



