34 Weeks

January 27, 2010 at 12:55 am 4 comments

I had my 34 week check up today.  All good news! My blood pressure was 120/80 and I’ve gained 29lbs total.  The baby’s heartbeat was strong and normal, and he’s in the right position: head down.  He’s got his bottom on my left side, which is what I’ve been feeling pushing out.  His legs are on my right side, right near my ribs, which is where I’ve been feeling his kicks.  The doctor estimated that the baby weighs 4-41/2 lbs now, and predicted a birth weight of 7lbs 15oz.  That sounds like a good weight to me!

I spoke to the doctor about my recent falls: down a few stairs on my backside, resulting in a big bruise on my back, and on some ice in the parking lot at work, again on my backside.  I knew the baby was fine, since I landed on my rear and since the baby was kicking.  The doctor said there’s nothing to worry about, that babies are rarely hurt in falls, but to be careful because my center of gravity is changed and he wants to make sure I don’t get hurt.  He then told me of a patient that broke her leg at 40 weeks and had to have a C-section because it hindered her labor.  That was enough to scare me into being really careful!

After the appointment, I scheduled my next four appointemnts, all the way up until March 2.  I’m happy that I’ll be able to see my midwife at one of these appointments, as I haven’t seen her since they started rotating me through doctors and she’s been who I’ve seen for about eight years.  I wish she still delivered babies, but I’m happy with all of the doctors there, too.

Preparations for our little one’s arrival continue.  We painted his room green and Ed just finished painting the baseboard tonight.  The farm animal mural will be the perfect addition, and we’re just waiting on furniture and we can set it all up.

As for a name, he still doesn’t have one.  We’re thinking we’ll keep it to ourselves when we do figure one out, though.  Or who knows, we may be so excited that we finally picked a name that we won’t be able to keep it a secret.

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: .

Birth Class 36 Weeks

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. laura  |  January 27, 2010 at 1:03 am

    Don’t worry… I wiped out a lot and Liam turned out fine. My ego as I struggled to get my giant pregnant self off the ground… not so fine. 😀

    Reply
  • 2. Terri Walston Gurney  |  January 27, 2010 at 1:11 am

    I fell with both of my pregnancies and my kiddo’s were just fine! It sounds like you have had a wonderful pregnancy! Can’t wait til your little guy arrives!! xo

    Reply
  • 3. Amber  |  January 27, 2010 at 2:15 am

    I remember falling on a hill at work when I was around 32 weeks pregnant, also on my backside. It was muddy and wet, not fun. You should have seen the male co-workers I was walking with. Nothing freaks people out quite like a pregnant lady going down!

    Reply
  • 4. Ruth  |  January 27, 2010 at 11:24 am

    Wow, Abbie, I guess you’re in good company there, but PLEASE, let’s try and keep those falling hazards to a minimum! Remember that your center of gravity is changing, daily!

    Everything sounds good and exciting! This little baby boy will be welcomed with such open arms and all kinds of love when HE decides to make his arrival!

    Thanks for keeping us all updated!

    Love,
    Mom

    Too many exclamation points, Elaine? Can you tell I’m excited!!!!?!!!!?!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



