36 Weeks

February 10, 2010 at 12:08 am 3 comments

All good news again today at my check up.  My blood pressure was 122/82 and I’ve gained 32 pounds so far.  The doctor tested for Group B Strep, and I’ll get those results next week.  The internal exam revealed that I’m 20% effaced and not dialated at all. 

The baby is head down and has a strong heart beat.  He’s kicking my side, and the other night I felt both his little feet kicking with my hand, the first time I could really tell what body part was poking me.   I’m convinced he’s going to be late.  It’s my doctor’s policy to induce at 41 weeks, but I spoke to him today about delaying induction as long as possible while monitoring the baby to make sure he’s doing okay.  I really don’t want to have to be induced, but I’m not going to worry about it too much until the time comes.

We continue to get ready for our little boy’s arrival.  His nursery furniture has arrived (including a loaner crib because the crib we ordered back in November still isn’t ready).  Ed’s mom is working on the mural in the baby’s room and we’re all waiting to welcome him into our family.  Still no name picked out yet…

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , , .

34 Weeks Almost 37 Weeks

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber  |  February 10, 2010 at 4:13 am

    It sounds like things are going well!

    I was convinced I would go overdue during my first pregnancy as well. Most women do, after all. I spent what turned out to be my last midwife visit at 32 weeks quizzing the midwife about induction and non-stress-tests and all manner of things. Then I unexpectedly gave birth at 34 weeks. Which has no relation to you, of course, but still makes me laugh because, had I known, I could have spent that 30 minutes far more profitably.

    I hope that things continue to go well, and that you’re able to avoid induction.

    Reply
  • 2. Ruth  |  February 10, 2010 at 10:57 am

    How true, Amber! I told Abbie not to worry about that yet, cross that bridge when she comes to it. Induction may never need to even enter the conversation!

    Of course, if you prepare yourself mentally to go past your due date, you’re unexpectedly happy if you go a few days early!

    Ab~you’re doing incredibly! Enjoy this last phase of preparation and nesting; I can’t imagine a baby who has been more well-prepared for! We love him already!

    Love,
    Mom

    Reply
  • 3. Marie AKA Mimi  |  February 10, 2010 at 1:35 pm

    Sounds like everything is going along smoothly, what more can we ask for. No worries about the name, he will get one sooner or later. I GUESS!!! we are all prepared for this little guy, just in a holding pattern. You look great and feel good, the furniture is here and the mural is in progress. A few more weeks and he can make his arrival, we cannot wait! Enjoy your snow day!
    hugs
    Mimi

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



