38 Weeks

February 25, 2010 at 10:23 pm 7 comments

Mostly good news at my 38-week appointment today.  My blood pressure was a healthy 120/74.  However, I’d gained 6lbs since last week.  As soon as my doctor saw that, she checked my ankles.  Sure enough, they’re pretty swollen.  I haven’t had any problems with my feet hurting until this week, and I’ve been trying to keep them up.  I told her I’d just come from work, where I’m on my feet teaching.  At that point, she said “You should stop working.”  She’s concerned that if I don’t, my blood pressure may go up.

I burst into tears.  I explained that I felt torn: I love my job and I’ll miss my students, but I was also relieved.  Relieved to not have to get up early after being awake most of the night; relieved that I won’t be on my feet all day (good teachers hardly ever sit down!); relieved that I’ll have more time to nest and daydream about the baby.  So, tomorrow will be my last official day at work.

As for the baby and his arrival, we’re not planning on seeing him until the due date.  He’s healthy, with a strong heartbeat, occasional hiccups, and lots of little kicks to my ribs.  He hasn’t started to drop yet, and I’m about 50% effaced and 1 cm dilated, the same as last week.

We’ve been talking all about names and have made some progress, so we’re hopeful that by the time he arrives, he’ll have a name!

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , , , .

37 Weeks 39 Weeks

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Crunchy Chicken  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    Woohoo! What a blessing in disguise 🙂 Take advantage of your extra time and enjoy!

    Reply
  • 2. bwakeling  |  February 25, 2010 at 10:55 pm

    All the best for the impending labour! My wife is due in April and our baby is breech at the moment so he’d better get turning!

    You might be interested in my blog if you would like an insight into a man’s mind during pregnancy!

    All the best,

    Ben

    Reply
  • 3. Marie AKA Mimi  |  February 25, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    Don’t cry, this is all in preparation for your son to come into this world, you need to stop and rest and take care of yourself and your baby. The kids are not going anywhere and I am sure everyone wants the best for you and your health, so sit back and put your feet up and enjoy the rest of the solo time you have until little “what’s his name” arrives. This is all good! I will make dinner for tomorrow night, so do not worry about that. xoxo Any request?
    Mimi

    Reply
  • 4. everydaywomanusa  |  February 26, 2010 at 1:43 am

    Ab, all the better to rest up before the big day. Put those feet up and enjoy some daydream time!!! Can’t believe the time is so quickly approaching!

    Bwakeling~not to worry . . . Abbie was breech herself until the final month. I did some serious pelvic tilting exercises, which either helped her in turning, or she was planning on getting head down the last minute anyway. There are lots of things you and your wife can do to help encourage your baby to turn; I’m sure you’ll explore these with your doctor.

    Lots of love being send your way, Ab. I’ll take the next night for dinner delivery!

    Love,
    Mom

    Reply
  • 5. Amber  |  February 26, 2010 at 5:48 am

    Bursting into tears, for a good reason or no reason, is totally reasonable at this point. And I hope that tomorrow goes well, and you enjoy your leave before the little guy makes his appearance!

    Reply
    • 6. Farmer's Daughter  |  February 26, 2010 at 1:06 pm

      I figured that patients crying was routine when the doctor whippped out a tissue before I even knew what happened!

      Reply
  • 7. Terri Walston Gurney  |  February 27, 2010 at 2:42 pm

    Abbey…..I am so excited for you and Ed! I can’t wait ’til your sweet bundle of joy arrives!! xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



