39 Weeks

March 2, 2010 at 5:26 pm 2 comments

No baby yet! Today’s appointment revealed that I haven’t gained any weight since last week, which was good because last week I gained 6lbs of mostly fluid.  My blood pressure was normal the second time around, but started at 120/94 when the nurse first took it.  She told me to lay down and relax, and after 15 minutes in the waiting room worrying that I’d be put on bed rest or told to go right to the hospital (15 minutes alone can be dangerous to a racing mind!), the doctor came in and got 120/80. 

I’m still 1cm dilated, for the third week in a row.  The doctor and I talked about waiting as long as possible before going into the hospital, until my contractions are 3 minutes apart and lasting 1 minute.  I’m very happy that the doctors are so supportive of me laboring at home for as long as I can.  I made an appointment for next Monday, and at that point we’ll start to talk about testing to make sure the baby’s doing well.  As I’ve said this whole pregnancy, I’m expecting him to be late so I’m not concerned.

We’re still working on names, and are down to two.  We may decide before he arrives, or we may decide once we meet him.

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: , .

38 Weeks 39 1/2 Weeks

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bwakeling  |  March 2, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    All the best on your pregnancy! We’re expecting a boy in April!

    I’ve been writing a book during my wife’s pregnancy, and I’ve put some extracts online as a blog. You might enjoy it if you want to know how your partner might be feeling during pregnancy!

    All the best,

    Ben

    Reply
  • 2. Amber  |  March 2, 2010 at 8:34 pm

    It sounds like things are going well. It’s getting so close now – you’ll have your baby in your arms before you know it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



