40 Weeks

March 8, 2010 at 4:11 pm 9 comments

Well, technically tomorrow will be 40 weeks, but today was my 40-week appointment.  No baby yet!

My blood pressure was 120/74, my urine test was normal, and I’m still 1 cm dilated and 60% effaced.  The baby is still head down, in the same position, and hasn’t dropped yet.  His heart rate was 139 beats per minute, strong and healthy.

Everything was good news, so now we’re just waiting for him to decide to make his appearance, as tomorrow is my due date.

The doctor scheduled me to come in on Thursday for a non-stress test of fetal monitoring for 20-30 minutes and a biophysical profile (ultrasound) to make sure there’s enough amniotic fluid.  As long as those tests are normal, we’re going to continue to wait for labor to start naturally.

Entry filed under: Pregnancy. Tags: .

39 1/2 Weeks Due Date

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Eileen  |  March 8, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    My first two daughters who were 22 months apart and my last two (twin girls) were born at 43 weeks quite a few years ago! I was glad to have a doctor who did not interfere but let the birth happen naturally. All I had to do was to go in for non-stress tests and doctor visits. Everything worked out fine.

    Reply
    • 2. Farmer's Daughter  |  March 8, 2010 at 4:22 pm

      I really don’t want to be induced. The doctors will give me their best medical opinions and advice, but have made it clear that it’s our decision. I’m thankful for the tests, so I’ll be able to make a well-informed decision.

      Reply
  • 3. laura  |  March 8, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Abbie, I’m so glad you are so patient (well, as much as you can be when you are waiting for your baby!). I went to visit a girl this weekend who was pestering the dr for an induction at 36 weeks. She wound up being 4 days “overdue” and going in for the Cervidil. They did it Wednesday morning and nothing happened. They tried again Thursday and she dilated to 1 cm. So they loaded her up with Pitocin. Long horrible story after that, she had a c-section and a tiny little baby. The doctor now thinks they miscalculated her due date. So yay for you and how patient you are! Sending peaceful labor thoughts your way! And good luck with your “someday” book!

    Reply
  • 4. Kiki  |  March 8, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    Beware of the “Low amniotic fluid ticket” at your next appt. That’s all I’m saying.

    I just heard recently that the average gestation for first time mamas is 41 weeks 1 day. Both my babes arrived at exactly 42 weeks, after a full moon…isn’t a new moon arriving soon?!!

    Hang in there! Your baby knows what its doing and will initiate the onset of labor when its ready to breathe 😀 Good luck!

    Reply
    • 5. Farmer's Daughter  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:54 pm

      I really hate “Beware of…” comments. Blanket statements like that show ignorance.

      Reply
  • 6. Amber  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:34 pm

    I heard from my midwife that making sure you are very well hydrated for a day or two in advance of the amniotic fluid check can help. Drinking water certainly can’t hurt you, and if it helps you to avoid induction it might be worth considering. Just throwing that out there. 🙂

    I am glad that you’re continuing to do well, and I hope to hear news of your baby boy’s arrival soon!

    Reply
    • 7. Farmer's Daughter  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:01 pm

      I’ve heard that before. I’ve been drinking a ton of water anyway to help reduce swelling in my legs, as well as keeping plenty of amniotic fluid. I’m not looking just to “beat the test” I’d like him to have plenty of fluid all the time 🙂

      Reply
  • 8. Susan K.  |  March 8, 2010 at 10:07 pm

    We just brought baby Austin home Saturday after doing the wait for him to come on his own time thing. i sat at 4 cm dialated for 3 weeks and between 80 – 100 effaced. I gave up on the numbers the doctor gave me and just started praying.

    Our first two came at 38 weeks which is what we expected this time so this one coming in at 40 wks / 5 days had us surprised and going completely insane but, waiting for him to pick his own time was worth it

    Good luck and god bless 🙂

    Reply
  • 9. everydaywomanusa  |  March 9, 2010 at 1:00 am

    Sounds, great! You’re doing wonderfully, Abbie! Perhaps he’ll make his appearance on YOUR birthday?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



