Joshua’s Birth Story, Part V

March 25, 2010 at 5:56 pm 2 comments

Catch up on the whole story so far!

When the anesthesiologist came into the room, I was scared.  Nurse A. explained that I couldn’t move while she was putting in the epidural, even if I had a contraction, but that they would wait to start until right after I had a contraction.  I imagined being paralyzed for a moment, but the next contraction convinced me I definitely needed the epidural.

They asked our moms to leave the room, and positioned Ed facing me so he couldn’t see my back, which was probably for the best.  As the anesthesiologist talked to us about the procedure, she asked where we were from.  It turned out that she lived in our town and knew my family’s farm.  She told us about her favorite pie and I immediately felt at ease with her.  She numbed my back, then inserted the epidural, which I couldn’t feel.  My biggest concern was that I would be totally numb, but that wasn’t the case at all.

Within minutes, I felt my contractions ease.  My legs got a tingley, pins and needles feeling, but they weren’t numb.  I could still move my legs, and I could still feel the wetness of the amniotic fluid dripping.  Over the course of 20 minutes or so, my contractions got easier and easier.  Nurse A. said goodbye and Nurse M. introduced herself, along with the nursing student shadowing her, Nurse H.  I drifted off to sleep.

I woke up about an hour later, with Ed, our moms, Dr. R. and Dr. P. standing over me.  I was a little afraid that something was wrong, but Dr. R. was just saying goodbye.  Dr. P. was starting her shift and would be delivering our baby, which made me happy since I liked her better anyway.

Dr. P. told me to relax and keep resting, that it would be time to push before I knew it and that I needed strength then.  She said she’d check my progress at noon, and I should try to sleep more until then.

We all slept on and off, with Nurse M. and Nurse H. bringing anything we needed.  I could only have ice chips now that I had the epidural, but I was so tired that it didn’t matter.  Our moms remarked that they were a little bored, since they had been working so hard with me to get me through each contraction, and now that I was sleeping they had nothing to do.  Ed slept in the chair next to my bed, happy to be relieved from his role as coach for a little while.  Nurse H. came to say goodbye and wish me luck, as she had to go to class.

At noon, Dr. P. came in to check my progress.  I was 9 cm dilated and 90% effaced.  The baby was still at zero station and was turned to the side.  I was disappointed that it wasn’t time to push yet, but I knew it would come in time.  Dr. P. and Nurse M. helped me turn on my side and elevated my bed, to help gravity move the baby.  Nurse M. explained that pushing could take from one to three hours, and I half-joked that the way this labor was going it would probably take four. 

Dr. P. came back to check on me an hour later.  She said I was 10 cm dilated but still hadn’t completely effaced.  Not time to push yet.  At this point, I started to feel contractions again.  Dr. P. and Nurse M. explained that they were letting the epidural wear off so I would be able to push.  Though the contractions were uncomfortable, they weren’t painful.

Dr. P. said that I was fully dilated and effaced at 2:00, but the baby had turned too far to the other side and was still at zero station, not dropped enough for me to push.  So, I turned onto my other side and continued to wait.

About a half hour later, I started feeling the urge to push.  I told Nurse M. and she went to get Dr. P.  The baby was still high, but they decided that if I felt the urge, it must be time to push!

Entry filed under: Family, joshua daniel. Tags: , , .

Hello! Bath Time

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amber  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:13 pm

    So exciting! I can’t wait to hear the end. I’m hoping that your ‘awesomely wide’ hips meant that it didn’t actually take 4 hours of pushing.

    Reply
  • 2. Ruth  |  March 27, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    So wonderfully told, Abbie! I can’t imagine how you’ve remembered and recounted every detail here.

    I’m surprised that with all the modern technology, no one really knew how BIG Joshua would be! I believe they had said “about 8 lbs.” which wasn’t really very close to his actual weight!

    Amber~wish I could break your suspense, but that’s Abbie’s job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



