Joshua’s Birth Story, Part VI

March 29, 2010 at 3:11 pm 6 comments

Read the whole story here!

I started pushing at 2:50 pm on Friday.  Joshua’s birth began at 11:30 pm on Wednesday night when my pre-waters broke, and after all that time, I was determined to push him out.  I’ve never physically worked harder at anything in my life.

I grabbed my legs, tucked my chin into my chest and pushed.  Ed counted for me, and when he got to 10 I wanted to keep on pushing.  After all that time waiting and breathing, it felt so good to finally do something.  After my first contraction of pushing for three counts of 10, Dr. P. walked out of the room.  I was crushed, imagining pushing forever.  What I didn’t know was that she went to get her student, because she didn’t want her to miss the birth.

Ed and Nurse M. helped support my legs while I pushed, and my mom and Ed’s mom watched from the side of the room.  After my second contraction pushing, Dr. P. commented that I had made great progress pushing him down.  I was so happy to finally hear that I was making progress!

After another push, Dr. P. said “You have an awesomely wide pelvis!” I couldn’t help but laugh and reply “I got it from my mom!” Everyone laughed and agreed that the delivery room is probably the only place where that’s a compliment.

Between contractions, Ed patted my face with a cool towel and gave me ice chips to crunch on.  I pushed with each contraction for at least three counts of 10.  Sometimes four pushes, sometimes five, depending on how long the contraction lasted.  Sometimes I didn’t stop pushing at 10, but kept on pushing for as long as I could.  Sometimes I pushed between contractions.  Dr. P. told me to do what felt right.

Dr. P. said “He’s got a lot of hair!” and proceeded to make it into a mohawk before his head was even out.  I’ve heard she always does that with babies with lots of hair, it’s her trademark of sorts.  It made me so relaxed that Dr. P. was so friendly and felt comfortable joking around.  This wasn’t an emergency; there wasn’t any rush.  But still, I wanted to meet my baby!  Dr. P. explained that his head would be out already if she gave me a big episiotomy, but she wasn’t going to do that.  At that point, we realized the baby was going to be very long.  His head was almost out and his feet were still up by my ribs.

After a few more pushes, his head was out.  Dr. P. suctioned his nose and mouth, and then I pushed out his shoulders with the next contraction.  His body came right out, and they placed him on my chest.  He was born at 4:01 pm, after just over an hour of pushing.

There wasn’t any awkward silence.  The baby was screaming before he even got to my chest, and I was so thrilled to see him! Ed cut the cord, and the room filled with tears, laughs, and cameras.  He peed on me almost immediately.  We were so thrilled to finally meet our little boy.  Ed and I named him Joshua Daniel.

Dr. P. and Nurse M. guessed he would weigh almost 9 lbs, but we wouldn’t find out until later.  After I got a couple of stitches that I didn’t even notice, Nurse M. kicked everyone out of the room so Ed and I could bond with Joshua.  I was so thirsty, so she snuck me some cranberry juice with the provision that I sipped it slowly.  She also brought Ed some ginger ale.  She helped me position Joshua so I could nurse him. 

After about an hour, we moved to the postpartum room.  Nurse M. settled me into the room while Ed went with Joshua to the nursery.  The nurses there weighed Joshua and showed Ed how to bathe him and put him in a diaper.  Ed and Joshua came into the room shortly and announced that Joshua weighed 9 lbs. 8 oz. and was 22 1/4 inches long.  We were all surprised what a big boy he was!

Ed, Joshua and I spent the next two days in the hospital, then we got to come home.

Entry filed under: Family, joshua daniel. Tags: , , .

Bath Time Playing Outside

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. laura  |  March 29, 2010 at 3:55 pm

    Sigh. What a wonderful ending to such a perfect story! Liam and I loved it!

    Reply
  • 2. Angela Cox  |  March 29, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    I have loved reading your story.

    Blessings,
    Angie

    Reply
  • 3. Roxi  |  March 29, 2010 at 7:41 pm

    Thanks so much for sharing your birth story! I ended up with three c-sections and, although I was just thankful for my beautifully healthy babies, I felt like I missed out on the most awesome and powerful thing a woman can do. I always feel very blessed when someone generously shares their birth experience with me. Your “not so little” guy is precious and blessed to come into your family.

    Reply
  • 4. Jessica  |  March 30, 2010 at 10:16 am

    I loved reading your story. Again, congratulations! And welcome to the world Joshua, 🙂

    I’m so glad your mothers got to be there. I know it meant a lot to both of our moms to get to be there for Annabelle and Levi’s births.

    Reply
  • 5. Ruth  |  March 31, 2010 at 1:57 am

    Abbie,

    I am so honored that you included me in this incredible birthing experience! That was so very generous of you!

    Joshua’s entrance will be forever imprinted in our lives; I am SO PROUD of all you have done and all Ed has done and the family you have become together!

    I will NEVER forget when we all laughed during the delivery about your “awesome hips.” Without missing a beat, you made that silly comment and we all broke up. Yes, these hips of ours are wonderful . . . and all of you is wonderful!

    Thank you Abbie! Welcome, Joshua!

    Love,
    Mom/Gramom

    Reply
  • 6. Amber  |  March 31, 2010 at 6:00 am

    Yay! I’m glad that the pushing part went well. And that Joshua is clearly such a healthy baby.

    I love that photo. There’s always something so amazing about new families together. It makes me feel very wistful. Sniff!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



